CATEGORY 1 AND CATEGORY 2 NEIGHBOURHOODS

The established neighbourhoods are the older residential areas of the city that were developed in both the pre- and post-war periods. The established neighbourhoods are defined in the Zoning Bylaw and include neighbourhoods located within Circle Drive, Sutherland, and Montgomery Place.

In recognition of the significant difference in housing patterns, two categories of zoning standards are in effect. Category 1 generally refers to pre-war neighbourhoods and Category 2 reflects standards for post-war neighbourhoods.

Category 1 Neighbourhoods (in blue): King George, Pleasant Hill, Riversdale, Westmount, Caswell Hill, Nutana, Buena Vista, Haultain, Varsity View, City Park, North Park, and Exhibition.

Category 2 Neighbourhoods (in pink): Hudson Bay, Mayfair, Kelsey-Woodlawn, Richmond Heights, Sutherland, Forest Grove, Greystone Heights, Grosvenor, Brevoort Park, Nutana S.C., Eastview, Nutana Park, Adelaide/Churchill, Queen Elizabeth, Avalon, Holiday Park, Montgomery Place, Mount Royal, and Meadowgreen.

